July 9 — July 19, 2020


When We First Arrived... explores the human experiences of intersectionality, inequality, and social injustice through artistic expression. In an attempt to call attention to this on-going crisis for children, The Corner is re-opening a unique exhibition that highlights the injustice these families and children are still facing within the borders of the United States of America. Curated by Noack, the exhibition When We First Arrived... showcases over 100 works of art by leading visual artists, responding directly to the testimonies from children gathered by Flores investigators. While Federal Judge Gee ordered the children’s release by July 17th, it remains uncertain that the families will end up reunited and safe. Additionally, The Corner feels that the violence and abuse towards those detained should still be discussed and that community should be aware of these atrocities and the trauma that these children have endured. It is crucial that they continue to be supported by organizations engaged in advocacy and health.


When We First Arrived... is organized in close collaboration with DYKWTCA (Do you know where the children are?), an initiative by artists, Mary Ellen Carroll and Lucas Michael, who invited 123 artists to produce works utilizing the Flores accounts. It is part of the broader public awareness initiative, Project Amplify. The donated works of art will sold in a benefit sale in partnership with the Innovation Law Lab, and will benefit the Innovation Law Lab, Safe Passage Project with Terra Firma, and Team Brownsville.

When We First Arrived... is organized in close collaboration with DYKWTCA (Do you know where the children are?), an initiative by artists, Mary Ellen Carroll and Lucas Michael



Cande Aguilar
Ricci Albenda
Bill Allen
Marina Ancona
Carolina Antich
Antonia Granados
Polly Apfelbaum
Michele Asselin and Glenda Carpio
Walead Beshty
Paige Bradley
Eric Brown
Davide Bulula
Robert Buck
Dietmar Busse
Ambreen Butt
Mary Ellen Carroll
York Chang
Mel Chin
David Colman
Beatriz Cortez
Tony Cox
Jessica Craig-Martin
Anna Daučíková
Shezad Dawood
Lorenzo De Los Angeles
Beto De Volder and Leon Villagran
Anne Delaney
Alyssa DeLuccia
Liz Deschenes
Vikram Devicha
Cirilo Domine
Trisha Donnelly
Joanne Dugan
The Dufala Brothers—Billy Dufala and Steven Dufala
Jack Early
EIDIA House (Paul Lamarre and Melissa P. Wolf)
Manuel Esnoz
Rochelle Feinstein
Patricia Fernandez
Avram Filkenstein
Kim Folse
Jean Foos
Eve Fowler
Ivan Gaete
Molly Gochman
Camilo Godoy
Terrence Gower
Dan Graham
John Hanning
Graciela Hasper
Karolyn Hatton
Dana Hoey
Ashley Hunt
Samuel Jablon
Jesse Presley Jones
Rhea Karam
David Kelley
Maria Kent and Erin Leland
Jon Kessler
Elisabeth Kley
Alice Könitz
Josh Lehrer
Cary Leibowitz
Simon Leung
Siobhan Liddell
Matt Lipps
Tod Lippy
Mary Lum
Eva Lundsager
Brian Maguire
Yeni Mao
Jessica Mein
Julie Mehretu
Lucas Michael
Wardell Millan
Katrina Moorhead
Carlos Motta
Jason Murphy
Antony Nagelmann
Kambui Olujimi
Jeanine Oleson
Annee Olofsson
Ruby Osorio
Spencer Ostrander
Arthur Ou
Paul Pfeiffer
Gala Porras Kim
Liliana Porter
Luiza Prado de O. Martins
Barbara Probst
Rob Pruitt
Adam Putnam
Michael Rakowitz
Paul Ramirez Jonas
Ugo Rondinone
Kay Rosen
Alejandra Seeber
Alexandro Segade
Kang Seung Lee
Anna Sew Hoy
Amy Sillman
Laurie Simmons
Xaviera Simmons
Pamela Sneed
A.L. Steiner
Berend Strick
Lisa Tan and Johnny Chang
Steed Taylor
Ana Tiscornia
Lincoln Tobier
Julie Tolentino
Fred Tomaselli
Boris Torres
Marguerite Van Cook
Rafael Viñoly
Lawrence Weiner
Judi Werthein
Barbara Westermann
Summer Wheat
Bob Witz